Screenshot of Dr. Kaplan receiving the 2021 GPP Outstanding Mentor Award.

Award presenters Drs. Philip Wang and Kat Daly (top row) with Drs. Mariana Kaplan and Jorge Romo-Tena (bottom row) at the virtual awards ceremony.

We are delighted to announce that Mariana Kaplan, M.D., Deputy Scientific Director of NIAMS and Chief of the Systemic Autoimmunity Branch, has received a 2021 Graduate Partnership Program Outstanding Mentor Award. This award recognizes outstanding mentors for their leadership and dedication to their graduate students.

Dr. Kaplan was nominated by graduate student Jorge Romo-Tena, M.D., and was presented with the award at the virtual NIH Graduate Student Research Symposium.