The NIAMS Advisory Council meets three times each year to advise the Institute about its research portfolio and broader issues of science policy, and provide a secondary review of all grant applications that have been favorably recommended by a scientific peer group. Members of the Council are drawn from the scientific and lay communities and represent all areas within the Institute’s research mission. See the full list of NIH Advisory Committees.

Upcoming Advisory Council Meeting Dates

  • August 31, 2021
  • February 1, 2022
  • June 7, 2022
  • September 6, 2022

Meeting Agenda (presentations are available upon request)

Minutes From Recent Meetings

See the most recent meeting minutes.

Advisory Council Roster


CRISWELL, Lindsey A., M.D., M.P.H., D.Sc.
Director, NIAMS
Bethesda, MD 20892

BALL, Karen L. (2022)
President and CEO
The Sturge-Weber Foundation
Houston, TX 77070

BATHON, Joan M., M.D. (2022)
Professor of Medicine
Chief, Division of Rheumatology
Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons
New York, NY 10032

BOUXSEIN, Mary L., Ph.D. (2023)
Professor of Orthopedic Surgery
Department of Orthopedic Surgery, Harvard Medical School
Center for Advanced Orthopedic Studies
Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center
Boston, MA 02215

BUYON, Jill P., M.D. (2021)
Department of Medicine
Division of Rheumatology
New York University School of Medicine
New York, NY 10003

CALLAHAN, Leigh F., Ph.D. (2023)
Associate Director, UNC Thurston Arthritis Research Center
Mary Link Briggs Distinguished Professor of Medicine
Professor, Departments of Social Medicine and Orthopedics
Director, Osteoarthritis Action Alliance
Department of Medicine
University of North Carolina School of Medicine
Chapel Hill, NC 27514

CHEN, Elizabeth H., Ph.D. (2022)
Professor of Molecular Biology
Professor of Cell Biology
University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
Dallas, TX 75390

DEL GAIZO, Vincent (2021)
Patient Advocate and Director, Partnerships and Patient Engagement
Childhood Arthritis and Rheumatology Research Alliance (CARRA)
Whitehouse Station, NJ 08889

GARZA, Luis A., M.D., Ph.D. (2023)
Associate Professor of Dermatology
Johns Hopkins School of Medicine
Baltimore, MD 21231

IBRAHIM, Said A., M.D. (2022)
Vice Chair for Strategy and Development
Founding Chief
Division of Healthcare Delivery Science and Innovation
Department of Healthcare Policy and Research
Weill Cornell Medicine
New York, NY 10065

ORO, Anthony E., M.D., Ph.D. (2021)
Eugene and Gloria Bauer Professor of Dermatology
Associate Director and Professor
Center for Definitive and Curative Medicine
Department of Dermatology
Stanford University, School of Medicine
Stanford, CA 94305

SCHRANDT, M. Suzanne, J.D. (2023)
Founder, CEO, and Patient Advocate
ExPPect, LLC
Arlington, VA 22201

WESTENDORF, Jennifer J., Ph.D. (2022)
Margaret Amini Professor of Orthopedic Regenerative Medicine Research
Mayo Clinic
Rochester, MN 55905



NELSON, Melinda
Director, Office of Extramural Operations
National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases
Bethesda, MD 20892


Last Updated: August 2021