NIAMS Advisory Council Agenda

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
National Institutes of Health


92nd Meeting
National Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases
Advisory Council

Stephen I. Katz, M.D. Ph.D., Chair

National Institutes of Health
Building 31, Conference Room 6C6

June 21, 2017

Wednesday, June 21, 2017 — 8:30 AM — OPEN TO THE PUBLIC

Open Session to be videocast live at
I. Call to Order Dr. Stephen I. Katz
II. Consideration of Minutes
III. Future Council Dates
IV. Director’s Report Dr. Stephen I. Katz
V. An Update on the NIH Common Fund Dr. James Anderson
VI. Towards Precision Health for All: The All of Us Research Program Mr. Eric Dishman
VII. Update on NIH Policies Dr. Lawrence Tabak
VIII. Update on the Lupus/RA Accelerating Medicines Partnership program Dr. Susana Serrate-Stein
Dr. Robert Carter
IX. Presentation on NIAMS Roundtable on Gaps and Emerging Opportunities in Psoriatic Arthritis Dr. James Witter
Dr. Ricardo Cibotti
X. STAR Evaluation Dr. Kathryn Marron
Dr. Thomas Cheever
XI. Council Operating Procedures Ms. Melinda Nelson


Wednesday, June 21, 2017 – 1:00 PM – CLOSED TO THE PUBLIC

XII. Innovative Approaches to Orthopaedic Therapies Dr. Charles Washabaugh
XIII. STAR Awards Discussion Ms. Melinda Nelson
XIV. Special Actions Ms. Melinda Nelson
XV. Consideration of Applications Ms. Melinda Nelson
Division of Musculoskeletal Diseases
Dr. Joan McGowan
Osteoporosis and Metabolic Disorders of Bone Program Dr. D. Lee Alekel
Muscle Development and Physiology Program Dr. Amanda Boyce
Muscle Disorders and Therapies Program Dr. Thomas Cheever
Rare Diseases and Integrative Physiology of Bone Program Dr. Faye Chen
Clinical Research and Diagnostic Tools for Osteoarthritis
and Bone Quality Program
Dr. Gayle Lester
Cartilage and Connective Tissue Program Dr. Bernadette Tyree
Tissue Engineering and Regenerative Medicine Program Dr. Fei Wang
Orthopaedic Research Program
Dr. Charles Washabaugh
Division of Skin and Rheumatic Diseases
Dr. Susana Serrate-Sztein
Keratinocyte Biology and Diseases Program Dr. Carl Baker
Immunobiology and Immune Diseases of Skin Program Dr. Ricardo Cibotti
Systemic Autoimmune Diseases Biology Dr. Marie Mancini
Arthritis Biology Program Dr. Su-Yau Mao
Rheumatic Diseases Biopsychosocial Research Program Dr. Susana Serrate-Sztein and Dr. James Witter
Extracellular Matrix Biology and Diseases Program Dr. Hung Tseng
Skin Repair, Regeneration, and Pigmentation Program Dr. Hung Tseng
Rheumatic Diseases Genetics and Translational
Research Program
Dr. Yan Wang
Rheumatic Diseases Clinical Program Dr. James Witter



Follow our live tweets during the meeting on Twitter: #NIAMSCouncil