The NIAMS Advisory Council meets three times each year to advise the Institute about its research portfolio and broader issues of science policy, and provide a secondary review of all grant applications that have been favorably recommended by a scientific peer group. Members of the Council are drawn from the scientific and lay communities and represent all areas within the Institute’s research mission. See the full list of NIH Advisory Committees.

Upcoming Advisory Council Meeting Dates

  • January 31, 2023
  • June 6th, 2023
  • August 29th, 2023
  • January 30, 2024
  • May 29, 2024
  • August 27, 2024

Meeting Agenda (presentations are available upon request)

Minutes From Recent Meetings

See the most recent meeting minutes.

Advisory Council Roster


CRISWELL, Lindsey A., M.D., M.P.H., D.Sc.
Director, NIAMS
Bethesda, MD 20892

BATHON, Joan M., M.D. (2022)
Professor of Medicine
Chief, Division of Rheumatology
Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons
New York, NY 10032

BOUXSEIN, Mary L., Ph.D. (2023)
Professor of Orthopedic Surgery
Department of Orthopedic Surgery, Harvard Medical School
Center for Advanced Orthopedic Studies
Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center
Boston, MA 02215

CALLAHAN, Leigh F., Ph.D. (2023)
Associate Director, UNC Thurston Arthritis Research Center
Mary Link Briggs Distinguished Professor of Medicine
Professor, Departments of Social Medicine and Orthopedics
Director, Osteoarthritis Action Alliance
Department of Medicine
University of North Carolina School of Medicine
Chapel Hill, NC 27514

CHEN, Elizabeth H., Ph.D. (2022)
Professor of Molecular Biology
Professor of Cell Biology
University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
Dallas, TX 75390

GARZA, Luis A., M.D., Ph.D. (2023)
Professor of Dermatology
Johns Hopkins School of Medicine
Baltimore, MD 21231

GOODMAN, Stuart B., M.D., Ph.D. (2024)
Robert L. and Mary Ellenburg Professor of Surgery
Department of Orthopaedic Surgery
Stanford Medical Center Outpatient Clinic
Redwood City,  CA  94063

GRAVALLESE, Ellen M., M.D. (2024)
Chief, Division of Rheumatology, Inflammation, and Immunity
Theodore Bevier Bayles Professor of Medicine
Brigham and Women’s Hospital 
Boston, MA 02115

GRECO, Valentina, Ph.D. (2024)
Carolyn Walch Slayman Professor of Genetics
Yale University
New Haven, CT, 06510

IBRAHIM, Said A., MD, MPH, MBA (2022)
Senior Vice President, Medicine Service Line, 
North Shore/ LIJ Northwell Health System
Chair, Department of Medicine and David J. Greene Professor of Medicine
Donald and Barbara Zucker School of Medicine at Hofstra/Northwell
New Hyde Park, NY 11040

SCHRANDT, M. Suzanne, J.D. (2023)
Founder, CEO, and Patient Advocate
ExPPect, LLC
Arlington, VA 22201

STAEVA, Teodora P., Ph.D. (2024)
Chief Scientific Officer
Lupus Research Alliance
New York, NY 10016

SUAREZ-ALMAZOR, Maria E., M.D., Ph.D (2024)
Barnts Family Distinguished Professor
Department of Health Services Research
Division of OVP, Cancer Prevention and Population Sciences, 
and Section of Rheumatology and Clinical Immunology
Department of General Internal Medicine
Division of Internal Medicine
The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center
Houston, TX 77030

WESTENDORF, Jennifer J., Ph.D. (2022)
Margaret Amini Professor of Orthopedic Regenerative Medicine Research
Mayo Clinic
Rochester, MN 55905


BECERRA, Xavier (01/19/2025)
U. S. Department of Heath and Human Services
Washington,  DC 20201

TABAK, Lawrence A. PHD, DDS (01/19/2025)
Performing the Duties of the NIH Director
Office of the Director
National Institutes of Health
Bethesda, MD 20892


SALAITA, Kathy, Sc.D.
Scientific Review Branch
National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases
Bethesda, MD 20892


Last Updated: January 2023