Announcements for 2010

April 28, 2010 (historical)

NIAMS’ Katz Receives Honor from National Psoriasis Foundation

Dr. Stephen I. Katz with Dr.Joseph Menis

David Norris, M.D., University of Colorado, Denver; Bruce Bebo, Jr., Ph.D., National Psoriasis Foundation; Stephen Katz, M.D., Ph.D., Director of NIAMS

NIAMS Director Dr. Stephen I. Katz was honored by the National Psoriasis Foundation for his work and dedication in expanding research for chronic diseases, including psoriasis. He was honored at the annual meeting of the American Academy of Dermatology in March.

The National Psoriasis Foundation recognized Dr. Katz for his 15-year tenure at NIAMS during which there have been significant advances in psoriasis research, including: uncovering the autoimmune nature of psoriasis; revealing the connection between psoriasis and other serious health conditions such as cardiovascular disease; understanding the inheritance and genetics of psoriasis; and helping to create funding partnerships for research that is advancing our understanding of common diseases, such as psoriasis. These advances could help patients with psoriasis live longer, more productive lives.

“The work that Dr. Katz and his Institute have done to enhance psoriasis research is unprecedented,” said Randy Beranek, president and CEO of the National Psoriasis Foundation. “Under his leadership, researchers have uncovered the intricacies of the science and have brought us one step closer to finding a cure. We are proud to honor Dr. Katz for all he and NIAMS have done for the psoriasis community.”

Dr. Katz has been Director of the National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases since August 1995, and is also a Senior Investigator in the Dermatology Branch of the National Cancer Institute. Dr. Katz received his M.D. degree cum laude from Tulane University Medical School, New Orleans; and a Ph.D. degree in immunology from the University of London, England. In 1974, he joined NIH as a senior investigator in the Dermatology Branch of NCI, becoming acting chief in 1977 and chief from 1980-2001.