Related Information

About Us

Did you know?

  • In exchange for a two or three-year (for Intramural General Research) commitment to your research career, NIH will repay up to $35,000 per year of your qualified educational debt. See NIH Loan Repayment Programs

Research in NIAMS Labs

Updated July 27, 2015

Photo of Dr. John O'Shea, NIAMS Scientific Director

Dr. O’Shea Receives Inaugural David W. Talmage Award

Congratulations to Dr. John O’Shea who is the recipient of the inaugural David W. Talmage Award. The award was presented at the 2015 Aspen Allergy Conference.

Neutrophil extracellular traps (NETS) detected by a laser confocal microscope.

Review: The Role of Neutrophils in Lupus

A recently published review from the Systemic Autoimmunity Branch discusses the role of neutrophils and other granulocytes in the pathogenesis of lupus. Read the review here.

Photo of Dr. Adriana Almeida de Jesus.

NIAMS Intramural Research Program at Work

Dr. Adriana Almeida de Jesus (pictured) and other NIAMS intramural investigators describe advances and ongoing research. Patients describe their experiences, too, in this video compilation.

Photo of attendees reviewing a poster.

2015 NIAMS IRP Scientific Training

The annual NIAMS IRP Scientific Training is a two-day event that gives NIAMS investigators the opportunity to interact away from the bench and learn about each other’s research via oral presentations and poster sessions. This year’s program featured keynote presentations from four science gurus as well as a best-selling sports writer. The event concluded with an awards presentation where Outstanding Poster Award winners received autographed copies of The Sports Gene.

Photo of four poster winners.

NIAMS Fellows Receive Outstanding Poster Awards

Congratulations to the following NIAMS Postbac Fellows who received Outstanding Poster Awards at the 2015 NIH Postbac Poster Day (l to r): Jorge Irizarry-Caro, Systemic Autoimmunity Branch; Meghan Kellet, Laboratory of Skin Biology; Erika Hayes, Immunoregulation Section; Wilson Huang, Laboratory of Muscle Stem Cells and Gene Regulation.